I need sleep and fruit!

This is getting beyond a joke now.  As the rains have started the humidity has risen dramatically here.  So what happens at night when you really need the fan and air conditioning?  You get an all-night power cut!  Last night was the third night in the row that has happened – the power was still out when I left for the office this morning but because of the breeze it was actually cooler outside than it was in my room.  It makes for a very uncomfortable, hot sticky night which is very difficult to sleep through.  Plus this is the time of year when the mossies really come out – I have been quite lucky so far but the other night one of the horrible little critters somehow managed to get into my net during the night and had a field day on my shoulder and neck.  He is now dead as I murdered him as soon as I found him.  I wonder if there is some deep psychological meaning as to why I consider all mossies to be men?  Do men think of them all as women?

The food is also starting to get to me as well.  I am really starting to get fed up of the scrawny Korogwe racing chickens, the grizzly beef, the gritty rice and the nice but greasy chips.  I have given up completely on the ugali.  And breakfast is the same every single morning – two slices of bread with some sickly sweet jam and an extremely hot over cooked hardboiled egg – I don’t even touch the weirdly coloured foul tasting thing masquerading as a sausage.  I tried asking for some pineapple or juice for breakfast this morning and got really weird looks.

I think I need to get away somewhere for the weekend for some good food

About becksupeverest

Took a leave of absence from work and decided to work as a volunteer in Tanzania based in Korogwe, a small town in the northeast of the country (combined with some travels around East Africa). The project is to look at the cost base, strategy and business plan of a tree nursery NGO - one of the Gatsby Foundation projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I need sleep and fruit!

  1. Mike says:

    Actually – its only the female mozzies that bite!!
    So you need to change your gender discrimination against mosquitoes.
    Mike

Leave a Reply

