Lazy weekend in Dar Es Salaam

My little escape haven of a hotel was lovely – so worth paying the extra money for.  The room was lovely and huge – lovely view over the sea, English movies showing on two channels, free internet, excellent food and a good pool for swimming in.

The pool attendant told me I swim very well – and slightly off putting he watched me every time I started swimming my lengths.  I met a couple of Canadian ladies who were here for a conference by the pool.  Unfortunately we sat talking just that little bit too long and the bugs came out and had a field day on my feet.  We all met up later for dinner on the seafront so I didn’t eat alone.

The hotel was so nice but you could be anywhere in the world – I didn’t use a word of Swahili there but they were full from Sunday so I had to transfer back to the Harbour View in Central Dar.  It’s not a bad hotel but not a patch on the other one.  Although I do have a nice view of the harbour and a kitchenette so I can cook myself.  Sadly the supermarket near here isn’t very good – couldn’t get any fresh veg and all the cheese/meat was frozen but I am still going to cook anyway even if it means pasta with tinned stuff as I haven’t been able to cook since I left the UK – just wish I could get some fresh veg.

About becksupeverest

Took a leave of absence from work and decided to work as a volunteer in Tanzania based in Korogwe, a small town in the northeast of the country (combined with some travels around East Africa). The project is to look at the cost base, strategy and business plan of a tree nursery NGO - one of the Gatsby Foundation projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

